Socrates Revival
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum devoted to the free exchange of thoughts and ideas in a civil manner, free from taboos, intimidation, or censorship.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Why Do People Hate Math?

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
TheSleepingDragon

TheSleepingDragon

Why Do People Hate Math? Empty
PostSubject: Why Do People Hate Math?   Why Do People Hate Math? Icon_minitime7/10/2010, 00:19

I ask a simple question: Why do people hate math?

It seems that generally the average population has a great disdain and dislike for my chosen topic. Even doctors cringe when I mention I'm a mathematics student, and they're supposed to be incredibly intelligent.

Yet the same people who say they despise mathematics have a great penchant for a little number game in very high demand...what's it called...Sudoku?

Sudoku is exactly advanced mathematics making its way into the mainstream consciousness, but it doesn't seem to bring a love of the subject with it. This is rather odd, because advanced mathematics is essentially a game played by certain (very specific and incredibly discerning) rules. That what we mathematicians have come up with has ANY practical purpose is surprising in and of itself, but I digress.

To be blunt, I blame this overall gloom hanging over my topic on the quality (or lack thereof) of mathematical education worldwide.
Back to top Go down
Liz Anscombe

Liz Anscombe

Why Do People Hate Math? Empty
PostSubject: Just a rambling...   Why Do People Hate Math? Icon_minitime7/10/2010, 12:23